In which Trupz says Welcome to my world – Pune


There was a time, when daily hustle bustle of the big city, engulfed life. There were timings to be kept for waking up and dozing off, alarm clocks were matched to train station timings, and 5 minutes here and there would mean losing out your favorite seat. These were small things that mattered so much; that simply being out in the morning to breathe some fresh air seemed like some sort of a luxury. All exercise and catching of breath happened either running for the bus or rushing to the train. Climbing up and down the foot over bridge and jostling the crowd was daily massage I did not sign up for. Thats life in the fast lane in Mumbai for you. Long train travel across suburban Mumbai to reach work and even longer queues for buses and auto rickshaws to get back home. At a mere 28 years i was already exhausted. Unable to give enough time to family, unable to maintain a social life and more importantly unable to give time to myself.

Then life took a turn for the better, the start-up AD was working for decided to move to Pune! Initially it spelt disaster for me, my company had no offices in Pune and how long AD decided to stay there was unclear, whether this was permanent move, would that mean changing jobs for me – all the balls were in the air and I could not afford to drop even one. I decided to stay back in Mumbai initially. The logistics had to be sorted out about this whole Pune move, career wise, finance wise and obviously family wise. Both our parents were extremely supportive, having been through such times themselves they understood my concerns and his desire to take some risks and backed us. The job hunt for me in Pune was not very promising, with the recession etc and most companies on backfoot for hiring. Moving from Mumbai was just not an option. A very informal discussion with my manager led to a solution I had not dreamed of. The company would allow me to work from home, as long as all working criteria were met and the work did not suffer. I would need to travel to Mumbai as when required. All in all it meant a green signal for me to move to Pune, and a very unpleasant 3 months of separation would come to an end.

Home Sweet Home

In all this time, I managed only 3 trips to Pune, and was impressed with what i saw. It was just like any other emerging metropolis. My image of a sleepy old town, with very typical Puneri folk was wiped out in an instant. My first travel to Pune landed me directly into Kalyani Nagar – skim past this area and you are reminded of South Mumbai in an instant. A very upcoming and developing suburb, it took to my liking instantly and we decided our next abode would definitely be in this area. Limited with our finances, we settled for a 1BHK flat in an old society – but it had a vantage point. The location was superb, literally stones throw away from the Mall and multiplexes, biggest restaurant in area was across the street, all consumables were at arms length and everything else only at walkable distance. My initial grimace for not finding a house with a view disappeared within days when I figured out what advantages the house had ;P.

Silhouette - kalyani nagar backdrop of a sunset

Life began slow here, we arrived with bare minimum furniture, just enough things to survive. Most of what were needed laptops, books, Television, mattress, cupboards and gas stove. Thats it I thought to myself, the first night i closed my eyes – this will be home. I had taken a couple of days off just to set up everything in the new house. Cleaning up, unpacking, cooking it all had to be fitted in while managing work. With travel out of picture I suddenly had more time on my hand, so I cooked regularly. Exploring the new living area was a lot of fun too – but auto rickshaw meters in Pune were running faster than my heartbeat, so i took to walking around, it is best way of exploring the place :). Acclimatizing to neighbourhoods like Koregaon park and its numerous lanes, the camp area and of course the  temptations of the malls, purchasing new tid bits for home, my time was consumed by these. My now broken camera along with me walked many a sultry evening absorbing Pune. The setting sun shedding light on new avenues in life.

AD took me to office one day, I took to liking his colleagues immediately, some I had met before in Cleartrip and some I met for first time. They have a very close bonding, dinners at our place and hanging out became part of many a evenings. His boss did not mind me working out of their office too, they had enough space to lend me a table which was a very friendly gesture. Someday’s working alone from home often made me quite lonely. I had begun to miss the whole work atmosphere, fun with colleagues and office outings etc. Chai and coffee breaks were too by myself and not very enjoyable. Soon working out of AD’s office became a regular thing, atleast once a week, as on Thursday there was a power outage for more than 6 – 7 hours. I did not miss my own office so much then, as we went out for lunch with his office folk and there was always some or the other happening there to keep me entertained. Watching them work from sidelines, often gave me a kick too. In  their initial days I did pull an all nighter with them a couple of times. Pizzas and Red Bulls were great companions then.

Fun times at IB

Soon after we moved here, a few other friends from Mumbai also did – they too decided to set shop here and I began to miss Mumbai a lot less. Pune is traveller’s paradise, except for a brief spell in Summer, you can travel around through out the year. There are forts, hill stations all which are within reach of Pune. City is decorated with historical monuments from Shivaji’s times. Our first travel was to temple at Parvati. Then venturing out to Sinhagad, Aga Khan Palace, Panshet, Kamshet lakes and Pavana Dam. I had always pestered AD for not being able to trek, but we got an opportunity after coming to Pune, Quasi planned out a 4 day trek to Harishchandragad and before that I managed a trek by myself with ShikharVedh gang to Tornagad. The travel to office was limited to 5 Km for AD, he took to cycling there, the spell lasted a good few months till monsoon set in. Rains in Pune are wonderful, the place completely transpires into a green blanket and weather is nothing short of European romance.

The Naka Boys re-unite

Many people had warned me of how I would not be able to fit in and be out of place, and how Pune does not offer a social life, but it all proved wrong. Pune has some of the best eating joints, from the very Puneri Shreyas on Apte Road to Bedekar misal. A wide variety of Parsi food from Dorabjees to Zamu’s. Koregain Park is filled with little gems of places with the most surprising cousine – Our favorite has been Arthurs theme and Tertulia’s. Not to mention the little micro brewery which makes a lot of noise on social circuit called Doolally’s. Never did i get a chance to enjoy such a variety in such a short span of time. FC road and JM roads are a foodies haven, with popular joints like Vaishali and Good Luck Cafe to gorge at.

Fields of Good

On of the best things to have happened is that I got back to my hobbies, writing and photography. The more we traveled the more stories there were to tell.  Desire and passion to write were back and i was slowly mastering the art of photography. I got active on twitter and made some very nice twitter pals- it was a totally new experience of socializing. Suddenly I did not feel so exhausted, there was always something that kept me busy. While all this was happening, work kept its pace up and did not hamper career front, I got my promotion and my raise and things were looking good. Friends kept visiting and so did family. The home began to take shape as more and more “things” came into the house. Walls got photo frames and shelves,mattress got a new bed, windows got new curtains, the cycle is now replaced by a motorbike and life as we knew it changed for the better.

We still visit Mumbai often, but we long to be back in Pune. The city has taken my heart and Home is where the Heart is ….. We both are still pursuing our dreams and desires, and working equally hard to fulfill them. But in the midst of all this, life in Pune has given us that little cocoon to take a breather once in a while and I still have some time left to LIVE a little bit more.

28 thoughts on “In which Trupz says Welcome to my world – Pune

  1. thats such a cute post! 🙂 i didnt know how you moved to pune. now i do. i hope u keep on your adventure of travelling, writing, photography and trying out new food places! 🙂 my hubby’s friend moved to pune from US just recently and opened up a cafe called cafe delicia.

    Treasure Park,Shop No # 3,Sant Nagar,Off Satara Rd, Pune, India 411009
    Hours
    Mon – Sun: 5:00 pm – 11:00 pm

    do give me some feedback, if you happen to go there.

    have fun and keep writing. i love reading ur posts!!

  2. pune city is surrounded by forts.twenty km from pune village called velle the fort called rajgad.capitol of raja shiva chatrapeti.you must visit the place. beautiful.

  3. Pune is a great place. May it be the bustling and plush Koregaon Park or the super quiet and calm Mahatma Soc in Kothrud. But when i think of moving i just cannot get over to the positives of Pune or Bangalore over the negatives of Mumbai. I know i will fall in love with these cities but i cant think of liking something over Mumbai. Quite stupid of me or rather rigid me 🙂

    1. hey rima

      yes i thought of moving here pretty much on the same lines, but advantages are just too many to overlook. Although my love for Mumbai is for entirely different reasons ……. Pune is where buck stops, 🙂

  4. Very well written… sometimes moving to a new place gives u a different point of view and adapting well is completely on us.

  5. Hey Trupti,

    Extremely well penned..and though staying in Pune has its own advantages, I still miss my Mumbai when every other day I have to think more than twice if I need to travel alone at night esp. since I dont own a vehicle and would either have to depend on someone else or pay double/triple the auto rickshaw meter fare..I have been away from my own hometown for over seven years now and Mumbai is the only city where I have been able to travel alone at night as late as two or three in the night,have never had to bother if I would be able to reach home safe, get a rickshaw etc..And yes, I too believe that home is where the heart is and somehow for many such simple reasons that made me fall in love with Mumbai, my heart will always be in Mumbai 🙂
    To each his own 🙂

    1. hey sucharita

      thanks for visiting my blog.
      I agree Mumbai has its advantages for travelling, for a city that never sleeps i think its very safe.
      Depends on what you are looking for, if travelling woes are the concern, then i guess having ur own vehicle is the only option, this has given us the both convenience of travelling around Pune which has made life more interesting. And it is a step forward in life to being a bit more independent, i hate paying rick fares in Mumbai or in Pune 🙂 ….

  6. Trupz….

    I felt very nice after reading this post! 🙂
    You have also written it in a beautiful manner that I could visualize you and Tyo setting up house, you cooking, lying down thinking about how to put a particular piece of furniture in the living room! 🙂
    Cute, lovely and very nicely written!

    Adi

  7. Well written Trupti !!! Yes the lifestyle in Pune allows one to pamper one’s hobbies to the best. Brought out the same in me. Its nice to have best of both Mumbai-Pune. Wish you both a happy “puneri” life 😉
    You might have heard Pu. La. Deshpande’s Mumbaikar- Punekar. Hilarious for people who balance both.
    So now do we see a arka puneri in the Deshmukhs.
    Vishesh tippani : Any puneri paatyaas at your home. Just kidding.
    Good luck and keep in touch 🙂

    1. hey Thanks for your comment Prachi 🙂
      Yes i am very fond of Pu La’s Mumbaikar Punekar Nagpurkar, and as he mentions, “पुण्याचा आम्हाला जाज्वल्य अभिमान आहे” but i am glad Pune also has not remained the typical Puneri ishtyle it is known for.
      Will have to think of something very indigenous to put on our paati at home ..:D

  8. Having lived in Pune, I totally loved reading this post. And no doubt Pune is a great place for photography and eating and great weather and what’s best is that even during the hottest parts of the year, the evenings and the mornings are always pleasant.

  9. Darling this comes late but I only just got down to reading the whole thing 🙂 This so makes me miss the awesome times I had in Pune.. all those years… studying, making friends, making mistakes, making amends and all the while having loads and loads of FUN !!! Always wished I could share that with you, Miss you guys terribly, see you soon and this time in Pune 😀

    1. Hey tins …..
      Hehe …i know maan …. you have had an awesome time in Pune and our encounters with the Sukhois and the Lohegaon trip that story is going to go down history books ……
      We miss you guys also ….. by the time you come down, we would have shifted into our new place 🙂

      muah

  10. Glad you liked Pune :).

    I’d lived all my life in Mumbai, until I moved to Pune three years agon. I hate Pune from the bottom of my heart though :D.

    Perhaps I’d have a different view if I’d stayed in/around a locality like Kalyani Nagar/or if I’d had my own vehicle. But in comparison the situation for me was the same in Mumbai too ( small place in Goregaon/no vehicle ) but experiences much better!

    In Pune, I need to commute for more than 20km by public transport one way to office. It’s not exciting – especially when it rains !!!. Buses decide not to turn up (where or not it rains), they decide to breakdown and stop in the middle of the road anytime (whether or not it rains), sometimes they decide to go 5 minutes early just for fun, drivers decide not to stop at the bus stop (with a grin on their face) , conductors decide not to give a ticket (and feel it’s normal ).
    In Mumbai, I could plan to reach a place “on time” and I knew that if I’m “5 minutes” late from home it won’t be a disaster. In Pune, on numerous occasions being 5 minutes late for something, may cost you an hour 😦

    The power at home just goes away whenever it wants. I could never safely rely on coming back from office somewhat early and think about “continuing from home” earlier – it was too much of a risk. A backup power supply has made life more predictable now though 🙂

    Also, most of my experiences with shop keepers/people here have been very memorable for all the wrong reasons. In contrast to Mumbai where people work/have shops to make a living, the impression I got here was that the shopkeepers here think they are doing you a big favour ;). Medicine shops which shut down for 3/4 hours in the afternoon for “lunch time”. wt ?

    “To adapt”, I’m planning to perhaps move nearer to office/get a vehicle/change my job. But why does a place which calls itself a city have to make me do that ? 😉

    1. Hi Sharan

      Thanks for dropping by and I am glad that you ares till working in Pune ….
      Yes K.Nagar has its own advantages and believe me it does have plenty of them 😀
      I think nuisaance of public transport is an India wide affair and not so much of to do with a particular city …. although i would say compared to Mumbai my travel woes have been much milder in Pune – you should go back and read another one of my experiences with public transport in Pune …..
      Reaching on time and travelling i dont think is a guarantee even in most of the planned transport systems although to some extent i agree its not as erratic as in India ….
      Lesser said the better about India and the absolute absence of town planning ….city get set up first and then the infrastructure which why probably you will have to consider moving / changing jobs …..
      You would only have to do that within Pune though, look what Mumbai made us do, it made me set up a whole new home 🙂 ……

      To be honest, this was good and a happy experience for me as we both were moving on in many different spheres which is why we tend to overlook the smaller niggles …. 😀

  11. Its quite interesting to read ur blogs.. The stories just seem to get more and more interesting.. You can pep them up more by including relevant pics within the blogs.. Take care n keep writing

    1. Thanks for your comment Prachi – i have as much as possible tried to put pictures where i have been able to add them …. i am working on one more page to link here which is like a photo essay blog which will have more focus on photos and can contain small write up on trip or about pic…. keep reading and keep your suggestions coming …..

  12. Hi……

    Just happen to read thru ur post….any new city explored by urself gives u that sense of belonging. This is the place U’ve chosen as home and not a home town u had simply been born into.

    Well for some of us Mumbai is where we belong and choose to survive.

    But defi Pune has always been a fav getaway even today….somehow its small town feel along with the IT boom makes it so Cozy.

    Hope life is treatin u well cause we don’t deserve anything lesser

    1. Thanks Ujjain

      I can never get tired of calling you that and learning a newer call sign for you is almost impossible 🙂
      Yes Pune still provides that warmth you want to feel and the neo way of life we are all used to.

      Life is good, and giving me just what i deserve 🙂

  13. hey trupti… i loved this post. happened to be surfing around and the mumbai pune transition just reminded me of my good ol’ days in pune.

    hope to read more on this blog
    sarita yerandekar

Leave a Reply

